top of page
Search
  • hannahfaoilean

My Feathered Pen

Updated: Mar 24, 2022

I invite you to come with me as I play with the craft of writing, as I work my way towards publication.

I am writing a new YA fantasy novel.

I have written three of a separate series, book one of which is looking for agent representation.

So, here I go: the WIP (work in progress). Follow this thread to see what writing tips I pick up along the way.



I'm a plotter. I like the essence of the story to be flowing through my brain before I write it. Then I write a general outline. Once I have a chapter by chapter framework, a scaffolding, I start writing. Keeping an eye on the framework, I let the muse and my characters take me on the writing journey. In draft one, I don't edit. I just write the story as if I'm reading it. I read somewhere that the purpose of the first draft is to exist. It doesn't have to be anything else because no one else is going to read it. I do enjoy first drafts. I love the flow of creativity, free from development police or grammar police. That all comes later.


I like interviewing characters, getting them to tell me about their lives and their world, their likes and dislikes, why they do what they do. This allows me to world-build around them, to turn them into real people in my head which I hope will add flesh to the words on the page. No one is perfect, and baddies need reasons for what they do. By taking the time to understand them, I hope it makes me better at writing them. For the reader to stick with the story, they must care about the characters too.


September 2021:I am a member of Litopia on-line Writers Colony where huddles take place. That is where you can confidentially put up pieces of writing for critique and discussion by other huddlers. So, I put up a bullet-point plot. A criticism that my new WIP's plot had a backward step too soon in the journey sent me returning to the drawing board and character interviews. I had received a lot of information from my protagonist, Saoirse. This time, I went to a secondary character, the Fae King, to obtain more information about his world. Fae never give you something for nothing, so I agreed that for information about his world, he could have a bigger part in the story. His information was like gold dust, and I have improved my plot.


February - March 2022

I was lucky enough to find myself with a place on a 'Grackle & Grackle' Writing Course. It was held on-line this year, so I had the opportunity of meeting fantastic fellow writers from Texas and beyond. The writing exercises and the critiquing of other attendees WIPs and receiving critique on mine were insightful and inspiring. I'd like to thank the course tutor, Georgina Key, for this opportunity.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page